There are 54 weekly parshas and the full cycle is read over the course of one Jewish year.

It is a custom among Jewish communities for a weekly Torah portion, or parsha, to be read during Jewish prayer services on Shabbat, Mondays and Thursdays. The פָּרָשַׁת הַשָּׁבוּעַ‎ (Parshat HaShavua), is also known as a Sidra. The parsha is a section of the Torah (Five Books of Moses) used in Jewish liturgy during a particular week.

Select a Book to view the Parshas it contains

The Book of Exodus represents the defining features of Israel's identity; a complicated past marked by hardship and escape, a binding covenant with God and His chosen nation, and the establishment of community life and the guidelines for sustaining it.
The Book of Numbers is the culmination of the story of Israel's exodus from Egyptian oppression and their journey to the land God promised their fathers. Israel learns the importance of holiness, loyalty and trust when the possession of the land is left to a new generation.
The Book of Leviticus details God's instructions to the Priests and Levites on how to make offerings in the Tabernacle. The Israelites must maintain a code of conduct while camped around the traveling sanctuary so that God can dwell amongst the people.
The Book of Deuteronomy describes God's promise of blessing and prosperity if the people follow the Torah and curses and punishment if they disobey. Moses recalls Israel's unfaithful past and God's gracious care, calling on Israel to choose blessing and life over death.

Weekly Videos

Weekly Sources

Torah Reading

Weekly Goals

Get It The Way You Want It

A Lesson A Day For 30 Days

© 2024. 30 Day Elul Learning Challenge
A project of Partners Cleveland. Presented by The Jewish Federation of Cleveland

Get The Daily Elul Challenge In Your Inbox